Home Politics Kano: Why Takai constituency election is inconclusive – INEC

Kano: Why Takai constituency election is inconclusive – INEC

by James Davies

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday said it declared as inconclusive the election for the Takai Constituency seat in the Kano State House of Assembly because of over voting in five polling units leading to cancellation of results.

INEC Returning Officer, Professor Usman Ibrahim, announced this in the commission’s office in Takai.

Ibrahim said: “Even though the candidate of APC, Musa Ali, scored 24,573 votes while NNPP’s candidate scored 23,569 votes, we still have no other option than to declare the poll inconclusive.

“This is because elections in five polling units were cancelled due to over voting. Now, the election will be conducted again in the five polling units.”

In a related development, INEC declared Mr Garba Gwarmai of the APC as the winner of the Tsanyawa/Kuchi Constituency seat in the Kano State House of Assembly.

Professor Ganiyu Shokobi, the Returning Officer for Tsanyawa/Kunchi Constituency, announced the result at the commission’s Collation Centre in Tsanyawa.

Shokobi said Gwarmai polled 31,471 votes to beat his closest rival, Mohammed Ali of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), who got 27,864 votes, while Bello Abdullahi of the PDP polled 136 votes.

Also, INEC on Sunday declared the election results of the Shanono/Bagwai Constituency.

Professor Ahmed Iliyasu declared Ibrahim Kundila of APC as winner of the election after he got 38,021 votes, while Musa Aliyu of NNPP polled 29,983 votes.

Source link

You may also like

Leave a Reply

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More

I am 18 or Older I am Under 18